Contact ADA Sign Depot
  |    Every Order Ships Free!   |    Our Customer Reviews
Customer Reviews
State Specific Handicapped Parking Signs

State Specific Handicap Parking Signs

Correct Handicap Parking Signs Required By Individual States

While most states use the Federal R7-8 Reserved Parking Sign to designate parking spaces reserved for persons with disabilities, other states have developed their own specific designs. Sometimes states will require the Federal sign used with an added state-specific penalty or fine sign.

These 18 States use their own official handicapped parking signs and/or supplemental penalty signs:

Alabama, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Southern Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin

In some states and municipalities, enforcement of disabled parking regulations is active and strict. In other states or localities, it can be inconsistent, and even in the above list of states use of the Federal R7-8 sign to reserve parking stalls for drivers with a legally recognized disability is common. It is always a good idea to consult with your local municipal, ADA, or building code compliance authority when purchasing ADA parking signs.